Super Chevy Show concludes in Arizona desert

October 26, 2010 by  
Filed under Latest News

CHANDLER, Ariz (Oct. 24) — The 2010 Super Chevy Show came to a glorious end Sunday as good times were held by all during the final day of the 10th event of the season at Firebird International Raceway near Phoenix.

The show produced 57 category winners among 27 classes, along with winners in four bracket drag races and the Total Cost Involved/Wilwood Disc Brakes/Currie Enterprises Autocross.

The series now goes into hiatus before beginning the 2011 season and it’s 12-race schedule next April 8-10 at Palm Beach International Raceway in Jupiter, Fla.

Here is Sunday’s report:

Car Show Report: The show produced 57 winners along 17 best-of-class winners, including Mark Meloro, of Mesa, Ariz. taking home the Award of Excellence for his 1967 Nova. Mark Bosak, of Litchfield Park, Ariz., won the Best of Show Award for his 1967 Chevy Pick-up. There were also winners of the Editor’s Picks for the top 10 drag race cars. The winners were Robert Parker, of Mesa, 1955 Bel Air; Amber Dolezal, Chandler, 1967 Nova; Ed Breunig, Chandler, 1967 Nova; Stephanie Sundstrom, Gilbert, Ariz., 1962 Bel Air; Tony Cutaia, Phoenix, 1956 Chevy; Adam Montague, San Bernardino, Calif., 2010 Camaro; Geanine Ballard, Tucson, 1967 Camaro; Larry and Lori Pittenger, Williams, Ariz., 1968 Camaro; Ken Passeby, San Tan Valley, Ariz., 1970 Nova and Ron Rios, Sana Fe, N. Mexico, 1968 Chevelle.

Race Report: The winners were Amber Dolezal (Shoebox Shootout), of Mesa; Jayson Weaver (DOT), of Fountain Hills, Ariz.; Joe Kidd (Bracket One), of Marana, Ariz. and Scott “Lucky” Hudson (Bracket Two), of Anaheim, Calif. Dolezal drove her 1967 Nova to an E.T. of 8.761 seconds at 141.59 mph to beat Bill Salara, who ran a 10.550. Weaver ran a 12.524 at 107.77 mph to beat Ron Rios, of Santa Fe. Kidd drove his 1973 Nova to a time of 10.635 to beat Chris Lindsay, of Peoria, Ariz. Hudson beat Geanine Ballard.

Autocross Report: Kyle Newman had the best time on Sunday, covering the course in 23.84 seconds to win the Open class. Tammie Fellow won the Ladies division with Don Chenello taking the Novice class. Mary Pozzi had the best time on Saturday, completing the course in 24.76 to win the Open class. She also won the Ladies division with Dave Fellows winning the Novice class.

Individual Category Car Show winners

1958-89 Big Car
Stock: Mark Metz, Phoenix, 1960
Street: Jim Bates, Phoenix, 1962
Modified: Pete Ashlock, Apple Valley, Calif.; 1961
Chevelle 1968 & Newer
Stock: John Hill, Glendale, 1970
Street: Rick Bodley, Glendale, 1969
Modified: Jag Amdahl, Fountain Hills, 1969
Chevelle: 1964-67
Stock: Michael Arcado, Palm Springs, Calif.; 1967
Street: Anthony Eliopoulos, Phoenix, 1964
Modified: Les Hoctor, Glendale, 1965
Corvette 1983 & Newer
Street: Wendell Coats, Mesa, 1990
Corvette 1968-82
Street: Shirley Adkins, Tempe, 1969
Corvette 1953-67
Stock: Raymond Podsiadlo, Phoenix, 1959
Street: Steve Fegan, Tucson, 1966
Modified: Ed Newton, Tempe, 1956
Camaro Gen. V
Street: Dianne Leal, Tolleson, 2010
Modified: Robert Salcido, Phoenix, 2010
Camaro 93-2002
Stock: Tammi Fellows, Peoria, 1997
Street: Larry Christensen, Fountain Hills, 2002
Modified: Brian Deeney, Glendale, 1999
Camaro 1982-92
Street: Rob Loveless, Phoenix, 1983
Camaro 1970-81
Street: Hector Flores, Chandler, 1970
Modified: Roberrt Picrik, Tempe, 1971
Camaro 1967-69
Stock: Larry Christensen, Fountain Hills, 1969
Street: Jim Parks, Deforest, Wis.; 1968

Comments are closed.