Kansas Super Chevy Show Roars to the Finish Line

June 21, 2010 by  
Filed under Latest News

TOPEKA, Kan. (June 20) — Heartland Park Topeka has produced some of the top performances over the years and Sunday was no different as the Kansas Super Chevy Show roared to an exciting finish.

The day was highlighted by Rick Farber’s dominating win in Pro-Mod, but it also included competitive efforts in both bracket divisions, the D.O.T. class and a solid list of winners in the car show portion of the event.

The 10-race series, which is celebrating its 30th anniversary, now takes a break after back-to-back events the past two weekends before resuming July 16-18 at Maple Grove Raceway in Mohnton, Pa.

Here’s is brief look at Sunday’s results:

RACE REPORT: Rick Farber, of Derby, Kan., highlighted the competition on the track, putting together a string of sub-4.4-second runs to win the Pro-Mod eliminator. He topped it off with a 4.354-second pass at 154.07 mph to beat Steve Bruce, of Lawrence, Kan., in the final round. Bruce ran a 4.572 at 159.97 mph. The racing in the sportsman classes were just as competitive, with the wins going to Todd Piper, of Wamego, Kan., in Bracket 1, Luke Siebert, of Emporia, Kan., in Bracket 2 and Steve Young, of Collinsville, Okla., in D.O.T. Piper used a 7.837 at 165.23 mph to beat Dustin Smiley, of Clive, Iowa, to win the Bracket 1 final. Smiley ran a 9.484 at 144.23 mph. Siebert used a pass of 11.318 at 113.46 mph to nip Joe LeBlanc, of Westmoreland, Kan., in the Bracket 2 final. LeBlanc ran a competitive 11.696 at 113.77 mph. Young won in D.O.T., running an 11.71 at 112.79 mph to win the final. He beat Eugene Rowson, of Wichita, Kan., who ran a 12.894 at 102.86 mph.

CAR SHOW REPORT: This weekend produced one largest contingent of show cars of the season. The winners included Ted Hoffman (Modified Outstanding), of Poola, Kan., whose ’56 Chevy won in the 1955-56-57 Chevy category; Jim Colwell (Street Outstanding), of Topeka, Kan., whose 1967 entry won in the Chevelle 1964-67 category; John Kilmowicz (Modified Outstanding), of Lenexn, Mo., whose 1965 entry won in the Corvette 1953-67 category and Daniel Bunker (Stock), of Hays, Kan., whose 1970 Chevelle won in the Gold Class.

TOP 10 EDITORS CHOICE AWARDS: Shane Hermann, of Collinsville, Okla., was the top selection for the Drag Race Editors Award, winning with his white ’68 Chevelle. The other winners were Martin Brown, Collinsville, Okla, ’69 Nova; Steve Young, of Collinsville, Okla., ’66 Nova; Mike Tipton, Topeka, Kan., ’55 Wagon; Bryan Janosik, Topeka, Kan., ’66 Chevelle; Bob Smith, Pawnee City, Neb., ’63 Nova, Wagon; Micala Stallbaumer, Topeka, Kan., ’75 Camaro; Mark Gordon, Overland Park, Kan., ’81 Corvette; Jeremy Logsdon, Derby, Kan., ’74 Vega Wagon and Charlie Davison, Shawnee, Kan., ’56 Chevy.

The complete list of winners and race results can be found at superchevyshow.com on the event results page.

Comments are closed.