Competitors enjoy big weekend at Mickey Mart Rewards Super Chevy Show

June 13, 2010 by  
Filed under Latest News

NORWALK, Ohio (June 13, 2010) — The first leg of the only back-to-back events of the 2010 Super Chevy Show’s 30th anniversary tour lived up to the hype over the weekend as the Mickey Mart Rewards Super Chevy Show presented by Donald M. Graham and Associates concluded in grand fashion at Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park on Sunday.

The fourth of the 10-event series offered an impressive weekend of drag racing and another spectacular car show, with both categories receiving some of the higher car counts of the season. The series now shifts to Topeka Kan. for the Kansas Super Chevy Show presented by Rick Hendrick’s Superior Chevrolet, scheduled for this weekend at Heartland Park Topeka.

Here’s a brief rundown of Sunday’s activities at the Mickey Mart Rewards Super Chevy Show:

RACING REPORT: This weekend’s event produced some of the more competitive racing of the season. Sunday’s winners were JP Schuster, of Damascus, Ohio in B1; Maurice Edwards, of Norwalk, Ohio, in B2; Erick Hegelman, of Kalamazoo, Mich. in DOT; Robert Pavlov, of Poland, Ohio, in the new Shoebox class and Dave Hough, Las Vegas, Nev., in Fuel Altereds. Schuster used a near-perfect reaction time (0.006) to beat Lisa Schaffner in the B1 final, running an elapsed time of 8.011 seconds at 161.83 mph. Edwards also hammered the light (0.016 RT) to defeat Rick Baehr with a run of 11.057 at 118.72 mph. Hegelman beat Dr. Wendy in the DOT race with a time of 12.115 at 101.16 mph, while Pavlov beat Bill Rodrigues with a time of 9.220 at 144.67 mph. Hough beat Jason Richey in the Fuel Altereds final, running a 6.436 at 224.55 mph. Randy Biddle, of Burbank, Ohio, won the sportsman bonus race on Saturday with a 11.091 lap at 122.41 mph. Wes Buckley was runner-up. Jim Maroney, of Gilbert, Ariz., won Saturday’s Fuel Altered event, running a 6.476 at 208.33 mph.

CAR SHOW REPORT: The Mickey Mart Rewards Super Chevy Show featured one of the largest participant list of the season. The head of the class was turned in by Larry Gottsch, of Petersburgh, Mich., whose 1967 Nova earned him the prestigious Best of Show Award. Jim Stewart, of Bryan, Ohio, won the Award of Excellence for his 1957 Chevy. The winners included those in the Chevy ’55-57; Original Parts Group El Camino and the GM Performance Division Camaro ’67-69. The winners in Chevy ’55-57 were

Comments are closed.